Home > About Us > Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of IMDEA Networks Institute is its highest organ of governance, representation and administration. In accordance with the Institute’s statutes, the Board of Trustees is composed of Ex Officio Members representing the Regional Government of Madrid and Elective Members who are recognized leaders in the scientific matters of the Institute. The Director and General Manager of the Institute also participate in the Board of Trustees.

President: Prof. Dr. Ralf Steinmetz

Vice-President: Excmo. Sr. D. Eduardo Sicilia Cavanillas



Ex Officio Trustees

Ex Officio Trustees appointed by IMDEA Networks’ founding body:

Ilma. Sra. Dña. María Luisa Castaño Marín
Director General of Research and Technology Innovation
Department of Science, University & Innovation
Regional Government of Madrid 
(Madrid, Spain)
Ilma. Sra. Dña. Sara Gómez Martín
Director General of Universities and Higher Arts Education
Department of Science, University & Innovation
Regional Government of Madrid 
(Madrid, Spain)
Sr. D. José de la Sota Ríus
Scientific-Technical Coordinator
Madrimasd Foundation for Knowledge
(Madrid, Spain)

Ex Officio Trustees designated by research organizations within the Madrid public sector:

Designated by IMDEA Food:
Dr. Juan Mulet Meliá 
Innovation Expert
(Madrid, Spain)
Designated by IMDEA Materials:
Sra. Luisa Muñoz Rebollo
Head of Digital Services for Global Customer Unit (GCU) Telefonica and Customer Unit (CU) Iberia
Digital Services Presales, Commercial Management & Delivery
(Madrid, Spain)

Elective Trustees - Prestigious Scientists

Photograph of Prof. Dr. Ralf Steinmetz
Prof. Dr. Ralf Steinmetz
Full Professor & Managing Director of Multimedia Communications Laboratory (KOM)
Technische Universität Darmstadt
(Darmstadt, Germany)
President of the Board of Trustees
Photograph of Prof. Dr. Gustavo de VecianaProf. Dr. Gustavo de Veciana
Cullen Trust Professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
The University of Texas at Austin
(Austin, Texas, USA)
Photograph of Dr. D. Heinrich J. Stüttgen
Dr. Heinrich J. Stüttgen
Deputy Vice President
NEC Laboratories Europe 
(Heidelberg, Germany)
Photograph of Dr. D. Heinrich J. Stüttgen
Prof. Dr. Ioannis Stavrakakis
Full Professor & Head of the Department of Informatics and Telecommunications
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens 
(Athens, Greece)

Elective Trustees - Companies

Banner of Telefónica Investigación y Desarrollo
Telefónica I+D 
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative 
Mr. David Pablo Del Val Latorre
President and CEO, Telefónica I+D (R&D)

Banner SATEC
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representatives
Mr. Luis Alberto Rodríguez-Ovejero Alonso 
Mr. Isaac Gil Rabadán
Director of Human Resources and Processes

(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representatives
Mr. Antonio García Marcos 
Mr. Ignacio Villaseca Costero
Director General

Banner Nokia Bell Labs
Nokia Bell-Labs Spain
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative
Mr. Fernando Corredor Sierra
Marketing and Corporate Affairs

(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representatives
Mr. Ricardo Lobo Martínez
R&D Department Manager
Mr. Diego de Lapuerta Montoya
Chief Operations Officer


Elective Trustees - Institutional Trustees: Universities

Trustees designated by the Counsellor of Education and Research of the Regional Government of Madrid at the proposal of the universities:

Logo Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Universidad Carlos III de Madrid 
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative 
Prof. Dr. D. Juan José Vaquero López
Vice-President for Scientific Policy

Universidad Autónoma de Madrid
Universidad Rey Juan Carlos
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative 
Prof. Dr. Jesús María González Barahona
Associate Professor of Telematics Engineering
Faculty of Telecommunications Engineering

Banner Universidad de Alcalá
Universidad de Alcalá
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative 
Prof. Dr. Juan Ramón Velasco Pérez
Vice President for Strategy and Planning

Banner Universidad Complutense de Madrid
Universidad Complutense de Madrid 
(Madrid, Spain)

Designated representative
Prof. Dr. Ignacio Martín Llorente
Professor and Head of the Data-Intensive Cloud Lab
Faculty of Computer Science & Engineering